What is your priority as an Actor when you start working with new colleagues?

Happy Monday! As we kick off our fourth and final full week of rehearsals (first show is on the 22nd!) here are a few thoughts from Actor Liam Harkins on how to approach working with a new team of people:

What is your priority as an Actor when you start working with new colleagues?

It may seem like an obvious thing to say, but my priority when starting work with a new company is to let them know that I will be a valuable member and voice in the rehearsal room, and more importantly that I will be someone that they will enjoy being around for the full duration of the working period. Everybody does their best work when they’re enjoying it and I try to keep the mood as light-hearted as possible from the very onset (especially when you know you’re going to have to go to some dark & painful places in the play).
I truly enjoy the hard work that goes on in the rehearsal room. My one priority before entering the rehearsal room is that I’m as prepared as I can be and that I’ve done my homework and I have strong idea on who my character is.
But that isn’t my job done, far from it. It’s then about being willing to share this with everyone in the rehearsal room and by the sheer nature of collaboration, they will be the people who will help you to keep digging deeper and fully flesh out who the character is and how to bring this guy to life in the story you’re telling. I’m very grateful that I’m able to do this with some very kind and talented people – Suzy, Jenna, Gabby & Shanice – and I’m very grateful that Jenna has given us the platform to explore all these things by writing such a wonderful, relatable & heartbreaking play.
It’s been a real pleasure to be a part of this so far.

 

Thanks Liam! As always we want to share as much of our process with you all as possible so please let us know in the comments who you would like to hear from next! We have Stage-Manager Shanice, Audio-Visual designer Alex, Director Suzy, Set-Designer Jono or Writer Jenna to choose from!
This entry was published on June 13, 2016 at 9:17 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

